ICC announces prize money for T20 World Cup 2021

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the prize money for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021. The multi-team tournament will be played in the United Arab Emirates and Oman from October 17 to November 14.

Up to $ 5.6 million has been earmarked for the competition, which will be shared by the 16 participating teams. The winner of the world’s main event will receive $ 1.6 million, while the runners-up will receive half of the winning amount.

“The winners of the 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will be awarded prize money of $1.6 million while the runners-up will take home $800,000,” the ICC’s statement read

The two losing semifinalists will each receive $ 400,000. Additionally, there will be a bonus amount for each match the team wins in the Super 12 stage. The winners in each of the 30 matches will give the teams a sum of $ 40,000. Similarly, the teams that are eliminated in the Super 12 stage will receive $ 70,000 each.

“The ICC will also continue to award a bonus amount for each victory during the Super 12 stage of the tournament, as was the case during the 2016 edition of the tournament. The winners during the 30 matches during the Super 12 stage will take home an amount of $ 40,000, which equates to a total jackpot of $ 1,200,000. The teams that are eliminated in the Super 12 stage will receive $ 70,000 each, which is equivalent to a total sum of $ 560,000, “added the ICC statement.

In particular, the teams confirmed to compete in the Super 12 stage are Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Afghanistan, South Africa and the West Indies. While the parties participating in Round 1 are Bangladesh, Ireland, Namibia, Holland, Oman, Scotland, Sri Lanka, and Papua New Guinea.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply