Lanka Premier League 2020 Complete Squads of all Teams

Lanka Premier League 2020 Complete Squads of all Teams

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has announced that the Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2020 will start on November 21 and run until December 13.

On Monday, the official player auction for the LPL also began, where no less than 438 players were signed across five teams.

These five franchises are Colombo Kings, Dambulla Hawks, Galle Gladiators, Jaffna Stallions and Kandy Tuskers.

Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Shahid Afridi, Faf du Plessis, and Carlos Brathwaite are among the top foreign players who have been signed to Lankan Premier League squads for the tournament which is due to start on November 21.

Although the draft, which took place on Monday, was carried out incredibly randomly on the internet, with team owners unclear on the draft rules and protocols, SLC nevertheless took another step – even if it is unstable – towards organizing its own T20 franchise tournament.

Wasim Akram was among those present at the draft, in his role as Galle Gladiators’ mentor. The Galle side shares the same owner as the PSL Quetta Gladiators franchise. Also in attendance were former Sri Lankan players Hashan Tillakaratne (who will coach Kandy Tuskers), Thilina Kandamby (who will coach Jaffna Stallions) and England coach John Lewis (who is involved with Dambulla Hawks). Dav Whatmore, the former Sri Lankan coach who led them to 1996 World Cup victory, was not seen in the draft but is linked with the Colombo Kings franchise.

Each team had two choices of foreign marquees – players that each franchise tackles individually and signs up. There was also a choice of local marquee. The remaining players will be paid according to the value determined by the category in which they were chosen during the draft. Players drafted earlier are generally better paid.

Given the disorganized nature of the project, there were frequent flashbacks and misunderstandings, with selectors coming in and out of the video call, and constant back and forth between the owners and SLC, who apparently ran. the project process. The bigger problem came when Lewis apparently picked New Zealand skater Todd Astle for Dambulla’s team, but then got a message a few minutes later to suggest Astle had in fact pulled out two years ago. weeks.

Nevertheless, the project came to a conclusion, with the teams choosing between 16 and 20 players. Some slot machines have been deliberately left open, with teams essentially backing each other to persuade foreign players to play in the tournament and fill the position.

The LPL is slated to take place from November 21 to December 13 and will first be played at Sooriyawewa Stadium, before moving on to Pallekele for the final stages of the tournament and knockouts. The Sri Lankan government has not approved a lenient quarantine measure for those entering the country for the tournament, but SLC insists that participating foreign players and officials have all agreed to the strict 14-day quarantine, in which arrivals are not permitted to depart. their rooms.

All LPL 2020 matches will be played at two venues – Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy and Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota.

The player draft had some big foreign names such as Andre Russell, Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Chris Gayle, Mohammad Amir, and Shahid Afridi. The LPL project also included two Indian cricketers in the form of Manvinder Bisla and Manpreet Gony.

The draft took place online and some prominent figures such as SLC Vice President Ravin Wickramaratne, SLC CEO Ashley de Silva, franchise owners and head coaches of each team were present during the process.

The final squads of  LPL are as follows:

Colombo Kings Squads

Andre Russell, Faf du Plessis, Angelo Mathews, Manpreet Singh Gony, Manvinder Bisla, Isuru Udana, Dinesh Chandimal, Amila Aponso, Jeffrey Vandersay, Thikshila de Silva, Ravinderpal Singh, Ashan Priyanjan, Dushmantha Chameera, Tharindu Kaushal, Lahiru Udara, Himesh Ramanayake, Kalana Perera, Tharindu Rathnayaka, Navod Paranawithana.

Galle Gladiators Squads

Shahid Afridi, Colin Ingram, Mohammad Amir, Hazratullah Zazai,Lasith Malinga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Akila Dananjaya, Milinda Siriwardana, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Azam Khan, Lakshan Sandakan, Shehan Jayasuriya, Asitha Fernando, Nuwan Thushara, Mohomed Shiraz, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Chanaka Ruwansiri, Sahan Arachchi.

Jaffna Stallions Squads

Thisara Perera, Dawid Malan, Wanindu Hasaranga, Shoaib Malik, Usman Shinwari, Avishka Fernando, Dhananjaya de Silva,  Mahesh Theekshana, Charith Asalanka, Nuvinidu Fernando, Kanagaratnam Kapilraj, Theivendiram Dinoshan, Suranga Lakmal, Binura Fernando, Asif Ali, Minod Bhanuka, Chaturanga de Silva,Yiyakanth Yiyaskanth.

Dambulla Hawks Squads

Dasun Shanaka, David Miller, Carlos Brathwaite, Ashen Bandara, Paul Stirling, Lahiru Madushanka, Upul Tharanga, Samit Patel, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Lahiru Kumara, Oshada Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Pulina Tharanga,  Angelo Perera, Ramesh Mendis, Dilshan Madushanka, Sachindu Colombage.

Kandy Tuskers Squads

Chris Gayle, Kusal Perera, Liam Plunkett, Wahab Riaz, Kusal Mendis, Nuwan Pradeep, Seekkuge Prasanna,Perera, Priyamal Perera, Kavishka Anjula, Asela Gunaratne, Naveen-Ul-Haq, Kamindu Mendis, Dilruwan Lasith Embuldeniya, Lahiru Samarakoon, Nishan Fernando, Chamika Edirisinghe, Ishan Jayaratne.

Leave a Reply