Pakistan squad for T20 World Cup 2021

Pakistan squad for T20 World Cup 2021

PCB, on Monday, announced a 15-man squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup starting October 17 in Oman and the United Arab Emirates. Having qualified for the Super 12 already, the Men in Green will kick off the campaign with a marquee game against India on October 24 in Dubai. New Zealand, Afghanistan and two other qualifying teams are also in their group.

As for the squad, Babar Azam will, as expected, lead the team while Mohammad Rizwan will be his substitute for the tournament. The likes of Imad Wasim, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi and Mohammad Hafeez were the certainties and they have reached the team. Interestingly, no reserve starter has been named on the 15-man squad, while Fakhar Zaman is one of three reserve players.

Sohaib Maqsood has come into the lineup thanks to his consistent performances in the middle order during the second leg of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) in Abu Dhabi. Maqsood was the third tallest running back overall this season scoring 428 runs in 12 games with a brilliant 156.78 hit rate.

Pakistan’s squad for the 2021 T20 World Cup:

Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Hafeez, Azam Khan, Khushdil Shah, Asif Ali, Sohaib Maqsood, Mohammad Wasim, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Afridi, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Hasnain, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Nawaz.

Reserves – Fakhar Zaman, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply