Sri Lanka Squad for T20 World Cup 2021

Sri Lanka Squad for T20 world Cup 2021

Sri Lanka announces the 15-member team for the tournament. The Sri Lankan team has revealed their 15-member squad that will compete in the upcoming T20 2021 World Cup tournament which is scheduled to start on October 17 and end on November 14. In particular, the Marquee event was scheduled to start in India, but has now moved to the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and OMAN due to the COVID-19 scare in the country.

The Sri Lanka team, champion of the 2014 T20 World Cup, could not obtain direct qualification for the next T20 World Cup 2021 and will have to go through a qualifying stage to play the Super12 round against the already qualified teams.

In particular, the Sri Lanka National Cricket Team is placed in Group A of the qualifying round alongside the Namibia National Cricket Team, the Netherlands National Cricket Team and the Irish National Cricket Team.

Sri Lanka has witnessed a huge decline in international cricket and they have been embroiled in various controversies. Things have not been good for Sri Lanka on the field or off the field. Recently, 3 cricketers from Sri Lanka were banned due to a bio-bubble burst. Also, the cricketers and the board were not on the same page and the players were upset with Sri Lanka Cricket.

Sri Lanka Squad for T20 World Cup 2021

  • Dasun Shanaka (Captain)
  • Dhananjaya de Silva (Vice-Captain)
  • Avishka Fernando
  • Charith Asalanka
  • Bhanuka Rajapaksa
  • Kamindu Mendis
  • Kusal Perera
  • Dinesh Chandimal
  • Wanindu Hasaranga
  • Chamika Karunaratne
  • Lahiru Madushanka
  • Dushmantha Chameera
  • Nuwan Pradeep
  • Maheesh Theekshana
  • Praveen Jayawickrama


  • Β Lahiru Kumara
  • Pulina Tharanga
  • Binura Fernando
    Akila Dananjaya.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply